Reader Story: Somewhere In The Middle

Sharing the story of a reader. Here it goes:

“Mine was an arranged marriage. I met my husband only twice before saying yes. He was (and still is) quite the opposite of me. I am an outgoing, adventurous, and bindaas person. He, the complete opposite. Introvert, shy and not so outgoing. It was his calm and peaceful nature that attracted me to him. Within a few months of saying yes, we were married.

We have now been married for almost 30 years and have been blessed with two wonderful children. But somewhere, I am not in love with the calm and peaceful nature anymore. Don’t get me wrong, I still love my husband very much, but the qualities that initially attracted me to him don’t appeal to me so much anymore. Once married, there were things that I wanted to do, places I wanted to be at, but he just was not up to it. I was spontaneous, he was not. I wanted to do things, he always wanted to sit at home. Somewhere down the line, I realized, we actually weren’t compatible individuals. And by that time, it was too late, I already loved him too much.

So where does this entire situation leave me? More than halfway there, but not there yet. There are things I regret not doing. Those random trips, long drives at night, etc. There is so much I didn’t do that pinches me. Yet, I loved him.

I do wish that I had given it more time before saying yes to him. To get to know him. To spend time with him. So I could actually see that we are not that compatible. On the other hand, I really cannot imagine my life without him.

Today, every time I look back, I can happily say I love him, but the undone things in life, always has, and always will pinch me.”

One thought on “Reader Story: Somewhere In The Middle

  1. Shikha says:

    me and my guy are also way different.. i am going to get married in a month time. I am hyper active and he is super slow.. I am impulsive and he will not move until he think 1000 times. At the end I think he brings more stability in my life.. There are times when I also think the same, however when I see brighter things it makes me feel happy.

    If he was a kind of person who would take you out for trips, long drives what if he was not a caring and loving person?? Would you be able to enjoy such trips? And you can always take your kids and hang around with your friends and fulfill your wishes.

Leave a Reply

